Uncategorized

Top Ten List

  1. The Night the Bells Rang, by Natalie Kinsey-Warnock (This was chosen because of the connections to the author and the additional lessons the book taught.)
  2. Once Upon an Alphabet, by Oliver Jeffers (Delightful, playful, creative setting of the alphabet.)
  3. Sarah, Plain and Tall, by Patricia MacLachlan (My mom’s story.)
  4. If Wishes Were Horses, by Natalie Kinsey-Warnock (I laughed, I cried, I could relate to the girls and know my students will love the story.)
  5. When Marian Sang, by Pam Munoz Ryan (Important lesson in the history of music.)
  6. Norah’s Ark, by Patsey Gray (A long lost friend who I was so happily reunited with.)
  7. Savvy, by Ingrid Law (A delightful assignment from a student.)
  8. Piano Lessons Can Be Murder, by R. L. Stein (I love the enthusiasm of my fourth grade boys.)
  9. The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate (An important story behind the story.)
  10. Dave, the Potter, by Laban Carrick Hill (Beautiful story and beautiful art, a true story.)

My choices of my top ten list were varied, but most of the choices had a personal message, or a strong link to other activities at school, which allowed the books to translate more than just a story.

One of the best things about this list is that I have more choices that I would still like to add to it.

Standard

One thought on “Top Ten List

Leave a comment