Assignments

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

Where has this semester gone?

What a ride.

The last official book that I read for class, in addition to our Treasures Series, was the sequel to Sarah, Plain and Tall.

Skylark, by Patricia MacLachlan, somehow was a disappointment.

Skylark

I don’t think it was the story so much as the fact that it was written for a much younger audience than I am. I found myself knowing what was going to happen all along the story, and it seemed as though it was moving quite slow.

I think in reality it solidifies the fact that in order to be a good match, a book needs to be age and interest appropriate for the reader. If that reader is an old lady, or an elementary student, the writing style needs to be appropriate.

If a book is written in such a way that it can’t be followed by a young student, it won’t be a good experience for them. On the other side, if a book is too simple for an older elementary student, it can be worse because it is boring.

Learning the age appropriate books and having ideas for a variety of interests can make or break a good reading experience for anyone of any age.

And with that, I bid you adieu.

Standard

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

  1. It is sad that the semester is over, I have really enjoyed just being able to read without it being a text book. You are right age appropriate books are important but it is also important that it fits the child or children you are reading too.

    Like

  2. I’m glad that you gave your honest thoughts on the book. It’s good to know what books out there are not worth reading. I think that reading books before our kids will help with this problem of them not being interested in the book.

    Like

  3. I personally did enjoy the book, but that’s just me. But I do see where you are coming with choosing books that are age appropriate and how it is very important so we wont loose them throughout the reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

