Assignments

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

Another quiet, uneventful Monday. HA! Maybe in another universe….

This week I was handed another Goosebumps book, and I had to laugh out loud before I even read it. The enthusiasm with which it was given to me was priceless. And the title…. Piano Lessons Can be Murder, is perfect for me. I have taught piano lessons for the majority of my life.

Piano_lessons_can_be_murder

The details of this story are so “lifelike.” The horrible music teacher. The nightmares about lessons. I should have this be required reading for my piano students. (Sadly, I have not had time for scheduling any this season.) The other enjoyable thing about reading Goosebumps books, is that I instantly see one of my students as the main character. The mannerisms of the characters are so true to life of a fifth grade boy. Just perfect.

In line now is Jake and Lily, by Jerry Spinelli. This was given to me by a fifth grade girl.

12924291

I can see why she liked it. It is written in the voice of Jake and Lily, who are twins. They take turns in the writing of the chapters, which are sometimes only a very short sentence long. My student also has an older brother in class. Imagine that! I’ve just begun the book, but so far their lives and the writing style are delightful.

The majority of my reading this week has been in my students’ Treasures Reading Textbooks. I really do like this series. It includes an excellent variety of stories in many genres. We have recently been on a space journey, studied endangered species, tall tales, folk tales…. quite a variety. It’s a challenge to stay ahead of four grade levels. But it certainly is interesting!

Good night. I need to read my alphabet book again. I might have missed something.

Standard

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

  1. Sounds like you read some good books this week! Jake and Lilly sounds pretty cute. Surprisingly enough, I have never read a Goosebumps book in my entire life. I think in grade school, I thought they were going to be too scary haha! Nice post though!

    Like

  2. Goosebumps books are good books I remember many of my classmates as well as me reading them. You other book Jake and Lily sounds like a good book as well. It sounds like you are really enjoying reading and getting recommendations from students.

    Like

  3. I had to laugh when I read your post because I teach piano too! What a small world. I may just need to read to book. With subbing and school, I only have two students at the moment and they are both girls, but the title of this book is too much to pass up!

    Like

  4. Jake and Lily sounds like a really cute book that would be an easy read for a student who maybe has trouble reading. Also, I thought it was kind of ironic that you teach piano and that was the Goosebumps book that was given to you! I have always loved the Goosebumps books. I just remember not being able to read them at night when I was little because then I couldn’t go to sleep! Ha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

