Assignments

Diversity

The first quote from this week’s article written by Brian Pinkney that caught my eye was “Through my picture books, I would change “Where Am I?” to “Here I Am!”” I especially liked his comment about changing things within his world quietly, using his writing and artistic talent to create the gap he felt existed in the world.

When I read his description of the book Max Found Two Sticks, I immediately thought of one of my students. Race has nothing to do with the similarities. They share many characteristics. Appearance isn’t one of them.

His closing remarks of suggestions to visit with children about the cover are very insightful. I truly believe that kids learn best when they are allowed to articulate their own thoughts, rather than being pushed with facts, facts, facts.

I also like his suggestion to “Make it Personal.” I think most kids do this automatically, without even thinking about it.

We have many stories in our library which feature Native American characters. The book Walk Two Moons, is a good example. This was the first book which was assigned to me by my students.

One of my own goals is going to be to browse through our books and pay more attention to the cover art to see if we are diverse or not.

It should be interesting.

I found the second article to be a little bit more difficult to read. I agree with the content, especially the main idea of a book being a mirror. I always put myself in the stories that I read. If you look closely at the choices our kids make in their own reading, you’ll see that they probably do, too.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Diversity

  1. I liked how you brought up that race has nothing to do with the similarities of the many characteristics they share, great way to put it! I also think that making it personal adds more to the child’s experience than just reading a book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

