Assignments

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

Quite a variety of styles in my path this week.

For starters, I read The Boys’ War, by Jim Murphy, on the recommendation of two students, one of mine, and one in this class. The details of how young the boys in the civil war were seem unreal. I have always been fascinated with the photography of that era, but this book includes photos that I have never seen published before. It was incredibly interesting. I think upper elementary-junior high boys would enjoy this book. I thought it was a series, but our library just has several copies of the same book.

Unknown

Next up, A Wrinkle in Time, by Madeleine L’Engle.

A_wrinkle_in_time_digest_2007

My cover is different, but I see there are several versions. I’m just getting started on this book. It’s like a predecessor to the science fiction stories of today. I’m sure we read it when I was younger, but I’m not remembering anything about this Newbery Award Winner. I may enjoy it more as I go, but my brain is in a different gear. I’m sure today’s older elementary would still enjoy it.

“And now, the moment you have all been waiting for…..TAH DAH!!!!!”  I have Once Upon an Alphabet, by Oliver Jeffers. I absolutely love this book.

Unknown

For one thing, it is BIG!!!  It is so delightful. The author wrote short stories about an object, animal, or person, for each letter. Very imaginative, creative, and truly funny. I laughed way too hard on this. I can’t imagine any child, of any age, not liking this book. Whenever I have my first grandchild, they WILL be getting this book. If you can’t find it in the library, BUY IT!

Exhaustion is taking over, and I’m finished for the da

Standard

9 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

  1. I have heard Of A Wrinkle in Time and may have read it in the past but do not remember any of it. I think the book Boys of War sounds interesting and would be something good to read. I love how excited you are about the book Once Upon an Alphabet your excitement makes me want to find the book and check it out. The alphabet is never a bad thing! 🙂

    Like

  2. I loved The Boys War!! Jim Murphy is so great at doing a thorough job researching a subject and then translating into a book that children can understand. I have loved all of his books. I think it would be interesting for young boys to read this book since they are around the same age as these soldiers. It would be good for them to think about their life now with what it may have been back then. I have not heard of Once Upon a Alphabet, but based on your description it is a must read!

    Like

  3. I just bought Once Upon an Alphabet but I haven’t read it yet. This week, for sure! I read and loved Wrinkle in Time when I read it for the first time in the 1980s, but when I reread it a couple of years ago, I really didn’t like it at all. I couldn’t imagine why anyone would enjoy it!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

