Assignments

It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

51jtqdhnzRL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses, by Paul Goble, is a beautiful book based on a Native American story. The illustrations are vibrant, and the story makes the reader want to know what will happen next. The ending event makes the reader pause to consider what the author means before revealing the event. This would appeal to any young reader, especially one who also loves horses.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

UnknownWhen I first saw the cover of When Marian Sang, I knew I had to have this book. The story of Marian Anderson’s singing career as written by Pam Munoz Ryan, is an important stage of American history. The illustrations are subtly beautiful, and the book naturally leads the reader to want to know more about her life.

 

 

 

http://www.npr.org/2014/04/09/298760473/denied-a-stage-she-sang-for-a-nation

2247713Oh, how I love old books. This treasure, Make Way for Ducklings is truly a children’s classic. The timeless story by Robert McCloskey, of a family of ducks in Boston, Mass., is as captivating today as when it was written. The historic artwork makes it endearing to young and old. For classroom work, many activities could be created with this book as its starting point.

http://www.boston-discovery-guide.com/make-way-for-ducklings.html

 

 

 

 

 

CM_many_moonsMany Moons takes a lighted-hearted trip through a child’s imagination. James Thurber’s adults who try to find a way to give the princess the moon get lost in the details. The book is an excellent read aloud choice, with many opportunities for creating voices. It reminds us to appreciate the simplicity of childhood.

 

 

 

 

 

 

512YF0AMH7L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Another timeless classic, The Biggest Bear, by Lynd Ward, takes us on an adventure with a young boy and his surprising friend. It could lead to many discussions with students about the possible reality of the events. The end is truly a surprise, with a young boy taking one more step toward being a man.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unknown-1

Oh how silly. A talking donkey? A magic pebble? Could there possibly be such a thing? Of course, if we use our imaginations! William Steig’s Sylvester and the Magic Pebble does just that. Have you ever wanted to be something other that what you are? Be careful what you wish for, it just might come true!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rapunzel_jacket

“Rapunzel, Rapunzel, let down your hair!” How many of us know that quote, but remember the actual story? Paul Zelinsky tells the tale in a manner that appeals to children and adults. With all the elements of a classic fairy talk, the author takes another step by adding illustrations of timeless beauty. Snuggle up on the couch with this one, with or without children.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

51fFMFk9FqL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_How many of you live in a little house?

Have you ever heard the phrase “If these walls could talk?”

In The Little House, by Virginia Lee Burton, the house does just that. She talks! And if you look closely, you’ll see that she also smiles. Now what could cause a house to smile?

Let’s step back in time to find the “his-story” of “her-story!”

 

 

 

CM_mosquitoesIt’s true! If you listen closely, you’ll know that it’s true.

Why Mosquitos Buss in People’s Ears. This West African tale, as retold by Verna Aardema, is sure to be a hit with audiences of any age. (A hit…. get it???)

The consequences of one little action grow and grow and grow. Follow along with this delightful tale to discover the answer to one of life’s persistent questions.

http://video.nhptv.org/video/1689064464/

 

 

 

 

 

 

41vyKn2NzkL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_Move over Big Bad Wolf. There’s a new wolf in town. Or perhaps I should say old wolf.

The classic tale from China of Lon Po Po, as told by Ed Young, will have your pulling the covers up over your head to hide. I just hope you don’t feel a big bushy tail by your toes!

The children in this story outsmart the wolf as they work together to save the day.

Standard

11 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

  1. I love old books too, so many of the book I read as a child are just as good today as they were 50 years ago. The Little House was always a favorite of mine and I still read it to the kids today, the Biggest Bear, Many Moons, Make way for the Ducklings, Blue berries for Sal and The Little Engine Who Could are all still favorites in this house and have had to repair or replace the books many times. I loved your choice of books what a nice walk down memory lane it was to see some old friends.

    Like

    • Thank you. I work at a very small school, and had help finding the majority of the books from our lower elementary teacher. Toward the end, I found some in my own home, and even though it’s under construction and many things are packed, I found a few treasures. I think When Marian Sang is my favorite. I love the soul of the book and the lady.

      Like

  2. My older son and I have been working a Caldecott reading challenge that I’m hoping to finish this year–we’re reading all of the Caldecott winners, gold and silver. That’s a lot of picture books! Many of the old ones really hold up and are still very enjoyable! (Unlike the old Newbery winners, which tend to be horrible! And boring and often racist!) Aren’t the illustrations in Rapunzel gorgeous? Be sure to look for Paul Zelinsky’s work in Kelly Bingham’s alphabet book, Z Is For Moose, to see how his style can vary.

    Like

    • I also appreciate the artwork of illustrators. I’m hoping to have a friend of mine visit my classroom through Skype. He is a professional illustrator in Oregon. The pictures always catch my eye first.

      Like

  3. I liked your reading choices for this week! I did not read any of these books this week, but remember a few of them from my childhood. I had forgotten about Sylvester and the Magic Pebble, but after seeing the picture of the cover I remembered loving it as a child instantly! I am so glad you wrote about this book! Thanks for posting the link to Why Mosquito’s Buzz. It is fun to have a story read and have the pictures animated. Even my husband, who would not admit to being interested in children’s books, watched the video with me. It was fun to watch!

    Like

    • Thank you. I appreciate the wide variety of books that fit this category. And we really do have so many technologies to make reading more fun for a wide variety of students. But there’s still nothing better than snuggling up with a real book.

      Like

  4. Wow! I like that you chose books that hardly nobody else did. Looks like I should start reading some of these books that you chose! I really like all the descriptions that you had posted as well. Your descriptions make me want to read these books! Good job!

    Like

    • Thank you Nicole. My co-teacher was very helpful in finding an armload of books for me. I also found a few at home. One of my most recent jobs was as a writer and graphic artist in our small local newspaper. I enjoy writing as much as I do reading. Good luck with the class! It is proving to be very interesting.

      Like

  5. Many of your books are ones that no one else chose! I LOVE that you picked so many older books! I have never heard of hardly any of those! I will have to look them up! That is one way this class will be so helpful! We will find many, many resources from our classmates!

    Like

  6. Your book choices are quite appealing, though I’ve never heard of most of them. I like the books that could also be a real story rather than totally made up. But, I’ve got to admit, even the made up ones can be quite a bit of fun to read. I will have to pick some of these up on the next library trip!

    Like

Leave a Reply

